AIWriterCost
Beta. Plan prices and usage limits come only from official pricing and help pages, in USD, before tax. Anything a page does not state, or that we could not confirm in USD, is marked pending.
Home › Compare › Grammarly vs Writesonic

Grammarly vs Writesonic: which costs less?

For 1 user on yearly billing, Grammarly has the cheaper paid plan: Grammarly Pro $12/month vs Writesonic Starter $79/month. On monthly billing it is Grammarly (Grammarly $30 vs Writesonic $99/month).

Last checked 2026-10-18 on the official pages.

Cheapest paid plan by team size (yearly billing)

Per-month price of the annual plan and the yearly total; free plans are covered below.

TeamGrammarlyWritesonicCheaper
1 userPro $12/mo ($144/yr)Starter $79/mo ($948/yr)Grammarly by $804/yr
2 usersPro $24/mo ($288/yr)Starter $129/mo ($1,548/yr)Grammarly by $1,260/yr
5 usersPro $60/mo ($720/yr)not priced: Writesonic plans include 1 to 3 users; extra users cost $50 per user per month on Starter (up to 3 more) and Basic (up to 2 more). Growth lists no extra-user price, Enterprise is custom.only one priced
10 usersPro $120/mo ($1,440/yr)not priced: Writesonic plans include 1 to 3 users; extra users cost $50 per user per month on Starter (up to 3 more) and Basic (up to 2 more). Growth lists no extra-user price, Enterprise is custom.only one priced
25 usersPro $300/mo ($3,600/yr)not priced: Writesonic plans include 1 to 3 users; extra users cost $50 per user per month on Starter (up to 3 more) and Basic (up to 2 more). Growth lists no extra-user price, Enterprise is custom.only one priced

Grammarly pricing · Writesonic pricing · your own numbers

Visit Grammarly (official pricing page) ↗

Visit Writesonic (official pricing page) ↗

Grammarly plans

PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearly (per month)UsersUsage allowanceNotes
Free$0$01 free account per personAI prompts per member per month: 100Write without mistakes, tone detection, 100 AI prompts a month.
Pro$30/mo$12/moper user, up to 149AI prompts per member per month: 2,000$144 per member per year ($12 average per month); $30 per member on monthly billing; up to 149 seats.
Enterprisependingpendingnot statednot statedContact sales; unlimited prompts per member; price not published.

Writesonic plans

PlanBilled monthlyBilled yearly (per month)UsersUsage allowanceNotes
Starter$99/mo$79/mo1 included + up to 3 extra at $50/user/moAI articles per month: 151 user, 1 project; up to 3 extra users at $50/user/month; 50 prompts tracked.
Basic$249/mo$199/mo2 included + up to 2 extra at $50/user/moAI articles per month: 252 users, 1 project; up to 2 extra users at $50/user/month; 100 prompts tracked.
Growth$499/mo$399/mo3 users, no extra-user price statedAI articles per month: 503 users, 2 projects; no extra-user price stated; 200 prompts tracked.
Enterprisependingpendingnot statednot statedCustom pricing; book a demo.

Usage units and team size

VendorHow usage is countedTeam size
GrammarlyGrammarly counts AI prompts: Free 100 a month, Pro 2,000 per member per month, Enterprise unlimited per member.Grammarly Pro is priced per member and holds up to 149 seats; Enterprise is by contacting sales.
WritesonicWritesonic counts AI articles per month for the workspace (15, 25 or 50). Its page does not define an article in words, so we do not convert articles into words.Writesonic plans include 1 to 3 users; extra users cost $50 per user per month on Starter (up to 3 more) and Basic (up to 2 more). Growth lists no extra-user price, Enterprise is custom.

Free plan and trial

VendorFree planTrial
GrammarlyYes. Grammarly Free costs nothing and includes 100 AI prompts a month; Pro adds 2,000 AI prompts per member per month.free plan; Pro trial offered
WritesonicNo free plan is listed. The pricing page says "Start free. No credit card needed." and every paid plan has a free trial.free trial, no credit card

Grammarly: Grammarly's plans page is shown in EUR to our server in Denmark and its country cannot be switched with a URL parameter, so every USD price below comes from Grammarly's own help article, which states USD. The plans page is used only for non-price limits.

Cost = per-user price × users (or the plan's flat price / base price plus extra users), at the monthly price or the per-month price of annual billing (yearly cost = 12 × that). Each vendor counts usage in its own unit and units are never converted. A plan marked free is priced as one free account per person. Taxes, add-ons and trials are not included. Ties are broken by vendor name. Affiliate status is never used.

Frequently asked questions

Is Grammarly cheaper than Writesonic?

For 1 user on yearly billing, Grammarly has the cheaper paid plan: Grammarly Pro $12/month vs Writesonic Starter $79/month. On monthly billing it is Grammarly (Grammarly $30 vs Writesonic $99/month).

How do the usage limits of Grammarly and Writesonic differ?

Grammarly counts AI prompts: Free 100 a month, Pro 2,000 per member per month, Enterprise unlimited per member. Writesonic counts AI articles per month for the workspace (15, 25 or 50). Its page does not define an article in words, so we do not convert articles into words.

Do Grammarly or Writesonic have a free plan?

Yes. Grammarly Free costs nothing and includes 100 AI prompts a month; Pro adds 2,000 AI prompts per member per month. No free plan is listed. The pricing page says "Start free. No credit card needed." and every paid plan has a free trial.