AIWriterCost
Beta. Plan prices and usage limits come only from official pricing and help pages, in USD, before tax. Anything a page does not state, or that we could not confirm in USD, is marked pending.
Home › Free tools

Free AI writing tools: plans and limits

Four of the eight vendors have a free plan with a USD-confirmed $0 price: Rytr, Grammarly, QuillBot, Wordtune. Each has caps: Grammarly Free 100 AI prompts a month, Rytr Free 10,000 characters a month, Wordtune Basic 10 rewrites a day and 3 summaries a month, QuillBot Free paraphrases up to 100 words at a time. Jasper, Writesonic and Sudowrite offer free trials only; Copy.ai states neither.

Last checked 2026-10-18 on the official pages.

Free planUsage allowanceNotesPage
Rytr FreeCharacters per month: 10,000Free forever; 10,000 characters per month.Is Rytr free?
Grammarly FreeAI prompts per member per month: 100Write without mistakes, tone detection, 100 AI prompts a month.Is Grammarly free?
QuillBot Freeno monthly cap statedParaphrase up to 100 words, 2 modes, basic grammar, limited humanizer, limited AI detector.Is QuillBot free?
Wordtune BasicRewrites & AI suggestions per day: 10
AI summarizations per month: 3
Free; unlimited spelling and grammar checks.Is Wordtune free?

No free plan: trials

VendorTrialFree plan?
Jasper7-day free trial of ProNo. Jasper's pricing page lists Pro and Business (custom pricing) only; it offers a 7-day free trial of the Pro plan.
Copy.ainone stated on the pricing pageNot stated. Copy.ai's pricing page lists paid plans (Chat from $29/month) and says nothing about a free plan or a free trial, so we do not claim either.
Writesonicfree trial, no credit cardNo free plan is listed. The pricing page says "Start free. No credit card needed." and every paid plan has a free trial.
Sudowritefree trial, no credit cardNo free plan is listed. Every plan has a free trial ("Start Free Trial, no credit card, cancel anytime"); the trial's credit allowance is not stated.

Cost = per-user price × users (or the plan's flat price / base price plus extra users), at the monthly price or the per-month price of annual billing (yearly cost = 12 × that). Each vendor counts usage in its own unit and units are never converted. A plan marked free is priced as one free account per person. Taxes, add-ons and trials are not included. Ties are broken by vendor name. Affiliate status is never used.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free AI writing tool?

Four of the eight vendors have a free plan with a USD-confirmed $0 price: Rytr, Grammarly, QuillBot, Wordtune. Each has caps: Grammarly Free 100 AI prompts a month, Rytr Free 10,000 characters a month, Wordtune Basic 10 rewrites a day and 3 summaries a month, QuillBot Free paraphrases up to 100 words at a time. Jasper, Writesonic and Sudowrite offer free trials only; Copy.ai states neither.

Do Jasper, Writesonic or Sudowrite have a free plan?

No free plan is listed on their pricing pages. Jasper offers a 7-day free trial of Pro, Writesonic a free trial with no credit card, and Sudowrite a free trial with no credit card.